Glossophobia? Not Me!

Glossophobia is the fear of public speaking. The word is Greek, glossa meaning tongue, phobia meaning fear. Studies have shown that the number one fear in America is public speaking. …I am scared of the dark!

I have been comfortable with public speaking ever since I was a little girl. I believe this all steamed from my parents family business Triple J Equine Horse Products. Our family would travel to different rodeos throughout the state of Fla., Tenn., MS and WY. Our family would set up a Triple J booth to sell product. In between my horse shows I would go up and down the arena promoting the company. Keep in mind I was only…. 10 years old. I loved it! This is where my “gift to gab” was formed.

Since then I found myself always volunteering to be the spokesperson in group projects. I even spoke impromptu at congress meetings as a lobbyist and on-stage as a form of competition in pageants. Competing in pageants really taught me impromptu speaking because the question was always a surprise. You had to prepare foe EVERYTHING!

-All of my speeches in my Public Speaking class were impromtu. I had topics and key points in mind but very little memorized.

-Prepared for Strawberry Queen in Plant City, Fla. This is where I learned a large bulk of my interview skills and impromptu. …Because being Strawberry Queen is compared to (in my opinion) Miss America.

-Worked several promotional events!

-Organized fashion shows

-Cold-call sales

-Redbull Flug Tag Pilot 2011 : Brickhouse Tavern and Tap. The moment I realized how much I love public speaking. On the flight deck in-front of over 110,000 people the guy tossed a microphone in-front of me.

Here is a photo of me and the principal of Mann Middle School where I spoke to the 8th grade class about the importance of seatbelt safety and did an interview with local news station (2006)!

Best,

J.J.

Image

2 Comments

  1. Pingback: News to Share! | Jennifer L. Johnson

Leave a Reply

