Personal Image & Etiquette

Personal image and basic etiquette are important traits of the professional world. The famous quote, “It takes someone 30 seconds to form an impression about you”, is ringing in my ears. I’ve decided to write my blog post on this topic as it is important when applying for industry jobs.

I remember when I taught image development classes at John Robert Powers. I would always tell the class, “be professional, be polished and be classy!” It seems like common sense but these are important actions in the real world / working world. Even if someone is NOT being professional, polished and classy, do not take that as an opportunity to slip up or act out of line. I emphasized to them that you never know who is watching or taking notes.

It sort of seems like common sense…. arrive to work on time, arrive to work in positive spirits, arrive to work ready to work, arrive to work polished, no cussing or swearing at work, have ethical standards all the time… the list could go on forever of do’s and do not’s in the work place.

It all boils down to personal image, how one want others to view them, and etiquette, how one behaves / acts. These traits are so important when  establishing industry relationships, personal reputation and much more!

By no means am I preaching that I am the most perfect person who has the best image and etiquette but want to let the reader know that I make a conscience effort to try my best!

-J.J.

Leave a Reply

