Cingular Wireless & AT&T

Today, I want to write about a milestone in my life. My first job. Sales Representative for a Cingular Wireless Agent retail store. This position lasted throughout my Junior and Senior high school years and the beginning college years.

I began my journey with Cingular Wireless in the summer of 2006. A family friend of mine knew the owners, Albert and Armando,  looking for a sales representative. So, they brought me in for an interview and hired me on the spot. About 6 months after working at the retail store, Cingular Wireless was purchased by AT&T.

Yes, I remember the merger. Won’t forget  reassuring Cingular customers that their wireless plan has been ‘grandfathered in’ meaning their plan won’t change unless they change it. I also remember when text messages  and picture messages were sold as two different packages. Today, it is looked at as one. I won’t ever forget the customer who said, “5,000 text messages? That is way too much! Ill pick up the phone and call!” Wonder how many text messages that person is sending now… it is a must have!

Below are a few things I learned as a Cingular Wireless / AT&T Agent. 

•I will forever have the customer service number memorized!

•Customers want to be accommodated. Make time for them. I once made a customer so happy she bought me the Garth Brooks complete CD collection as a Christmas gift (we both loved Garth!). I made a difference in her life and she made an impact in mine!

•This is where I first encountered angry people. Someone who is angry at life… and their wireless bill. I quickly learned and adapted to customer resolutions!

•Mystery Shoppers were my favorite! I welcomed the pop quizzes on my performance.

•In order to activate an account, you must talk to a representative in customer care. Make them happy just by asking how their day is going.

•When activating the cell phone with a customer care representative you must read off a series of numbers. IMEI codes or SIM card codes. I learned that it is much easier and efficient to read the numbers off in a series of 3’s. 123-break-456-break-789-break

•People LOVE their rollover minutes!

•I had a customer walk in the store and say, “I want a phone with the biggest antenna!” He was pretty confused when I showed him the Trio 360 Palm Pilot. After working with him for 2 hours, I sold him a Motorola flip phone. He left with knowledge that the biggest antenna doesn’t necessarily help you get crazy service.

Photo of me during 2006 in front of the orange wall.

Photo of me in front of the famous orange wall –  2006

Heather was my mentor during this time period! She showed me the ropes of being a sales representative!

Heather was my mentor during this time period! She showed me the ropes of being a sales representative! Notice the accessories and collateral behind us?

Izzy and I decided to take a break to show off some dances moves!

Izzy and I decided to take a break to show off some dances moves!

Leave a Reply

