Termites?!?!


termite-control-knoxvilleSincere apology for starting this post with scary bug pictures…trust me I know how gross it is. …Click here to see a video of termites hanging out with my dishes.

I am living with termites & here is how it is going
(Thumbs down!)

If you Google termite you will learn pretty much everything I am about to tell you. They swarm once to twice a year, I have dry wood termites & they are practically blind and will fly to light.  Ever see little wings left behind on the windowsill? Yup, termites.

This entire process has made me very happy that I do not own this home. The house I rent is so infested that there is a lot of structural damage. That is going to cost a pretty penny. If you are a homeowner, I strongly suggest that the house is check out for termites and invest in a professional pest control service. It is best to be proactive in this case!photo

Termites were discovered on the evening of May 25, 2013 when I walked to the kitchen for a midnight snack and was greeted with a ton of flyingbugs around the light fixture. I immediately grabbed the BF and after quick research it was confirm that they were indeed termites. The next morning there were thousands of tiny wings all over the kitchen windowsills and bathroom windowsills. After discovering the wings, I alerted the landlord. That Saturday a termite educated fella from Massey Pest Service came to inspect the house. He also confirmed that we indeed have termites. Fumigation would be the next step to kill all termites and pests living in the house.

Awesome.

What is the problem? Just fumigate, right? Not so fast…. Massey cannot fumigate until early July 2013. QUESTION MARK! That means I have to live with flying termites until early July. I decide to call another pest control company, Haskell, who quoted $200 less and could fumigation for Mid June 2013. …but the landlord did not want to go through paperwork to save $200. So guess who is living with termites? ME.

Tell me how would you handle….

  • What would you do if you found dying termites on your dishes?
  • What would you do if you reached for an oven mitt and found termites on it?
  • What would you do if you reached for a paper towel with termites on it?
  • What would you do if you reached for toilet paper with termites on it?
  • What would you do if you found 15 termites on your kitchen table?
  • What would you do if you found termites near your toothbrush?
  • What would you do if you found termites all over the drying dishes in the kitchen?

What is the silver lining in the termite situation? We are moving out! I will have a pool, a dishwasher and feel safe at my new home! And, I do not have to fiddle with lawn care! Yay!

Off to hang w the termites!

Jenn.

Leave a Reply

