@ShrednTrim

I’ve been busy working on a new project, @ShrednTrim. An Instagram (IG) fitness motivational page my workout partner, Alex, and I created. It has been a lot of fun & I am learning A LOT about IG (along with fitness and health=D). Alex and I have been exercising together since September of 2013. We really enjoy going to the gym together and we will even rearrange our schedules so we can workout together.

Alex and I talked about creating an IG fitness motivational page a few months ago & decided to take the leap & create the page this past June, 2014. The timing was perfect…. Alex entered an athlete search on IG hosted by a supplement company, 1st Phorm  & I was looking for another project. What not? The page was launched June 4, 2014 & received an encouraging amount of support. As of now (July 10, 2014) the page has a total of 639 followers & a lot of positive feed back. 

Being a giant nerd, I took the social media marketing into account as fun marketing project. Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love being able to motivate people to exercise and become more fit (not to mention I have changed my lifestyle to be more health focused). However, the online marketing aspect is a big interest for me. Let me just say…I’ve learned a ton about IG. I thought I knew IG from a personal level but taking the approach from a marketing level is much different

A thing or two that I’ve learned:

  1. KIK: Is a messaging platform a lot of people on IG use. You’ll see this in bios (which, by the way, has a character count of 140). Since IG doesn’t have a  direct chat message platform, users commonly use KIK. However, you can DM with a photo and then add a comment but cannot just DM text to a user directly.
  2. People PAY ridiculous money for a ‘shout out.’ First off, why didn’t I think of this when IG first became popular. Second of all, why would someone pay $50 for a shoutout? A lot of times, the person charging for the shoutout will remove the page after a certain amount of time (8 hours, 12 hours, 24 hours). Of course, the price varies depending on the person who is charging & their amount of followers plays a part. (@ShrednTrim does NOT pay for shoutouts!)
  3. Hashtags can break. What I mean by this is that you can post an image with a selection of hashtags. Depending on the frequency of the hashtag you should see the image indexed at the top of the grid. Sometimes there can be a broken hashtag (you won’t know which one because none of them will work) and the image won’t be indexed (or shown on the searched hashtag grid). This is one of my obstacles with IG as we rely on the hashtags to be found. If the tags don’t work, we delete and try again and again until it indexes (a few hours between attempts).
  4. Take advantage of free analytic services. What kind of online marketing / SEO person would I be if I didn’t evaluate data? Not a good one. We can see who unfollowed us or who gives us the most likes. A ton of useful information can be found. @ShrednTrim uses Iconosquare (formerly Statigram – the company whose 2013 year in review for personalized accounts went viral.) 

If you have IG be sure to look up @ShrednTrim for fitness motivation, workout ideas and healthy recipes. We even started a blog, check us out by clicking here. We are having a lot of fun & really enjoy sharing our passion for fitness & health to the public. 

coverfb-1368847909

Until next time,

Jenn L.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Managing Life | Jennifer L. Johnson

Leave a Reply

